We had to replace our old furnace and AC in the attic of a two story home. We selected Bayhill to do the installation. Ricardo and his team did an excellent and professional job. On many occasions I was able to observe Ben and his technicians do the work. I was impressed with the quality of their work and the care they took. We read the reviews that others gave Bayhill. We were influenced by the many excellent reviews Bayhill got. We were very happy in selecting Bayhill. We gladly add our names to the list of very satisfied customers and will refer you and our friends to them.
-Eusebio, Cupertino, CA, 3/7/2016
(source from Yelp's review)

Back in the Fall of 2010 it became clear that our home needed a new furnace, but also needed all new ducting under the house since the heat was not reaching us inside the house. We decided that such an investment was ultra-important for our home, and decided to use a "Diamond Certified" company. After quite a bit of research we decided on Bayhill Heating & Air. Why? Because we were so impressed with the experience and professionalism of owner Ricardo Valderrama, but also because of his righ-hand-man, Eddie.
Ricardo's team did a complete review of our home, advised us on the under-house ducting, the type of furnace for our size of home, upgrade of our electrical system, and even convinced us of the benefits of central air conditioning. They were terrific with the installation, training, and even the clean-up and removal of the previous equipment. But that was back in 2010.
In 2012 we decided to upgrade our water heater, and called upon Bayhill Heating & Air once again. They did a second prompt and excellent job once again.
And now on to 2014: Earlier this summer air conditioner conked out! We could not figure out what was wrong. Once again, Ricardo came to our home, assessed the problem, and pointed out that the coil outside had failed. And he discovered we were still under warranty, not quite 4 years later. They ordered the new parts, installed everything anew, tested the system, and everything works really well now. All this at no charge to us.
Bravo to Ricardo, Eddie, and the entire team at Bayhill Heating & Air. They offer the best equipment and the best customer service.
-Mary, Los Altos, CA, 8/26/2014
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo talked me through fixing my furnace problem at home by looking at some emailed photos. He tried hard to save me the service fee since I had done the damage myself when putting in new filters. He was terrific, fixed my problem and saved me the fee! This is a knowledgeable, friendly and kind service!
-Beth, Los Altos, CA, 1/27/2013
(source from Yelp's review)

I had a great experience with Bayhill. Ricardo was professional and gave good, detailed estimates, which alone made me pick them over my other estimates, which basically read heater: x$, conditioner: x$. Seeing things line by line helped me better understand the work involved. The crew was professional and friendly and worked hard. We ended up having to replace our first heater (I'd pass on a York next time around). They fixed it the first night after hours, then when it died again, they got it switched out the next day. They seemed to understand that it's not fun with no heat. Everything is still running fine now. Side notes: Their electrical and drain plumbing was very well done. While they were at it, they installed some extra outlets for me at minimal cost, which save me energy. Their woodwork was also good. We had to enlarge my attic opening to get the heater in (freed up a space to add a shower, yay). I had asbestos to remove. They did so, but left the parts out in my yard while waiting to dispose of it. When I mentioned it, they did a thorough cleaning of the yard. One downside, they didn't offer to finish the drywall patches. They did the patch, but left it up to me to smooth and texture it. Very small complaint considering how much less they cost me and how quickly they did the work. I 'd hire them again.
-Jarged, Sunnyvale, CA, 1/16/2013
(source from Yelp's review)

Bayhill was fantastic! I had a burnt electrical smell coming from my heating vents and wanted it looked at right away since I was afraid it was a fire hazard. I contacted two other businesses on Yelp, one popular one was booked for several weeks, the other never answered their phone. Bayhill had someone at my house within an hour of my phone call! Ricardo diagnosed the problem immediately (a burnt out blower motor). He also took the time to explain the systems I had in my house since I had recently moved in to it and was unfamiliar with everything. Usually it takes a day or two to order the part, but he was able to pick it up and have a technician install it within 3 hours so we wouldn't have to go without heat on a very cold night. The price turned out to be less than his original estimate and inline with what I expected to pay. I also had a new thermostat installed which was a similar price to what I have paid in the past. The technician said the old thermostat had not been installed with the correct wiring, so he fixed that as well. Bayhill also, per my request, got a new air filter and installed it at the same time. I would highly recommend Bayhill to others. They were professional, very fast, and reasonably priced. Doreen who took my initial phone call was great too, very thorough and got back to me quickly. No complaints! Call Bayhill if you need furnace help! Bayhill was fantastic! I had a burnt electrical smell coming from my heating vents and wanted it looked at right away since I was afraid it was a fire hazard. I contacted two other businesses on Yelp, one popular one was booked for several weeks, the other never answered their phone. Bayhill had someone at my house within an hour of my phone call! Ricardo diagnosed the problem immediately (a burnt out blower motor). He also took the time to explain the systems I had in my house since I had recently moved in to it and was unfamiliar with everything. Usually it takes a day or two to order the part, but he was able to pick it up and have a technician install it within 3 hours so we wouldn't have to go without heat on a very cold night. The price turned out to be less than his original estimate and inline with what I expected to pay. I also had a new thermostat installed which was a similar price to what I have paid in the past. The technician said the old thermostat had not been installed with the correct wiring, so he fixed that as well. Bayhill also, per my request, got a new air filter and installed it at the same time. I would highly recommend Bayhill to others. They were professional, very fast, and reasonably priced. Doreen who took my initial phone call was great too, very thorough and got back to me quickly. No complaints! Call Bayhill if you need furnace help!
-Sarah, Los Altos, CA, 1/20/2013
(source from Yelp's review)

We had a great experience working with Bayhill for our remodel, and since we ripped out all the old ductwork, we were basically starting from scratch. We wanted to go all-electric (I know, rare around here where everyone puts in a gas furnace for heat), and out of the 6 HVAC contractors we spoke with, Ricardo was the only one who actually listened to what we wanted and proposed a Carrier heat pump system with no gas. And to that competitive pricing and we were sold. Like all construction projects, ours ran over time, but Ricardo was easy to schedule with, especially considering it was maybe 3-4 months from when they first showed up until when we were finally done (our fault, not theirs). Benny and his crew did a great job on the install -- contractor friends of ours who saw the ductwork go in commented on how good Benny was. He took the time to go over vent placement with us, and despite that, when we did end up having to move a vent later, he was happy to come and adjust. Our remodel reinforced that it's not how someone seems when things are going well (it's not too hard to make a good first impression), but how someone reacts when problems arise that tells you about his/her character. When there was a miscommunication early on about whether our GC or Ricardo would handle the plumbing/drainage for the job, Ricardo said no problem, he would handle it, no argument. When it looked like we might miss a Carrier rebate because Ricardo hadn't begun his portion of the paperwork in time, he offered to match the rebate personally to make it right for us because we had discussed it when we signed the contract. (Fortunately for everyone, we were in time for the rebate after all.) I wish that all of the subs and vendors we worked with were as gracious as Ricardo. And our GC wanted his number to have him bid on future jobs because he was easy to work with. We hope not to have to worry about HVAC (besides regular maintenance) for a while, but when we inevitably have questions or trouble, we wouldn't hesitate to call Bayhill again
-Sarah, Los Altos, CA, 11/27/2012
(source from Yelp's review)

We recently worked with Ricardo at Bayhill Heat & Air to have our ancient gravity heater removed and to have a new forced air heating system installed. Ricardo and his team were excellent. They removed the old heater system on day 1, took only 2 days to install the new system, and had our floor/walls patched and looking like new with one final day of touch ups. Ricardo gives great personal service -- we could reach him on his cell phone even during the Thanksgiving weekend in order to schedule appointments for the permitting office to sign off on the job. All around we couldn't be happier with our new heating unit or with the service we received.
-Chris, Menlo Park, CA, 11/16/2012
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo was excellent! He really knows his business and is very professional. After Bay Air came out twice and left me with no heat and a big bill Ricardo came out and had everything working again in just an hour and for a reasonable amount of money! Thank you!
-Deb R, San Jose, CA, 1/4/2012
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo helped me get our furnace back online quickly with minimal cost. He first walked me through possible thermostat problems over the phone...he's good at this. When that didn't solve the problem he serviced my furnace for his $75 minimum and came back a second time to check on its operation for free. Definitely professional, helpful and affordable!
-Brain S, Palo Alto, CA, 11/11/2011
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo was excellent! He really knows his business and is very professional. After Bay Air came out twice and left me with no heat and a big bill Ricardo came out and had everything working again in just an hour and for a reasonable amount of money! Thank you!
-Deb R, San Jose, CA, 1/4/2012
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo was excellent! He really knows his business and is very professional. After Bay Air came out twice and left me with no heat and a big bill Ricardo came out and had everything working again in just an hour and for a reasonable amount of money! Thank you!
-Deb R, San Jose, CA, 1/4/2012
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo helped me get our furnace back online quickly with minimal cost. He first walked me through possible thermostat problems over the phone...he's good at this. When that didn't solve the problem he serviced my furnace for his $75 minimum and came back a second time to check on its operation for free. Definitely professional, helpful and affordable!
-Brain S, Palo Alto, CA, 11/11/2011
(source from Yelp's review)

Had an issue with either the thermostat or heater. The technician was able to quickly diagnose the problem which turned out to be pretty simple. He was really professional in all his work and what we were charged was extremely reasonable. I'd use them again in a heart beat. Used to go to Dahl Plumbing in Palo Alto but had a very hard time even getting them to call me back. They only wanted to send someone out without even discussing the issue beforehand. It is no longer Dahl plumbing and heating as they've been taken over by Palo Plumbing or some such name.
-John A, Palo Alto, CA, 11/29/2011
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo helped me get our furnace back online quickly with minimal cost. He first walked me through possible thermostat problems over the phone...he's good at this. When that didn't solve the problem he serviced my furnace for his $75 minimum and came back a second time to check on its operation for free. Definitely professional, helpful and affordable!
-Brain S, Palo Alto, CA, 11/11/2011
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo was excellent! He really knows his business and is very professional. After Bay Air came out twice and left me with no heat and a big bill Ricardo came out and had everything working again in just an hour and for a reasonable amount of money! Thank you!
-Deb R, San Jose, CA, 1/4/2012
(source from Yelp's review)

Ricardo helped me get our furnace back online quickly with minimal cost. He first walked me through possible thermostat problems over the phone...he's good at this. When that didn't solve the problem he serviced my furnace for his $75 minimum and came back a second time to check on its operation for free. Definitely professional, helpful and affordable!
-Brain S, Palo Alto, CA, 11/11/2011
(source from Yelp's review)

I requested an estimate from a few of the top ten HVAC BBB reviewed companies in the area, and within minutes Ricardo called me. The others never even returned my call. He came out, gave us an estimate and recommended the type of unit we should go with. He was very knowledgable and easy to talk to. The work--impeccable. He worked with our budget and didn't mind us asking him a million questions. If you're looking for an HVAC company, you shouldn't only look at Yelp. You should look at BBB and google the top ten HVAC companies in the area. THAT is where you will find out how well others review this company.
-Karen W, Pasadena, CA, 9/1/2011
(source from Yelp's review)

We bought a home that required the ancient gas furnace to be replaced. Ricardo came out and gave us an estimate, which included the 'bad' news that they'd have to go through the roof for some of the new duct work. Once his team came out, they took a closer look and went the extra mile to remove the top of the stairwell to put in the duct work and asked some poor guy to slide around on his stomach to lay it as we have a very low ceiling on our second story. By doing this, there was no need to go through the roof. His team worked around our floor guys as we were also having the hardwoods redone in the entire house. Even better, they worked together to ensure that as they old furnace was removed, Ricardo kept my floor guys (Gene at Caribbean Floors) informed about the size and type of subfloor so he could match the replacement boards.

As others have pointed out, it was sometimes difficult to reach him and I didn't hear back immediately (this is why I gave them a 4 vs a 5), but at the end of the day, I've never met a contractor who is that fantastic about responding. Let's face it, they are out and about on their jobs unlike many of us who are tethered to our computers during the day. Overall, I'd contact Bayhill again and when we put the A/C in, they will be doing this work for us.
-Amy M, San Mateo, CA, 2/14/2011

(source from Yelp's review)
Check out more customer reivews!

Ricardo is an honest and professional guy. My HVAC suddenly stopped working one day and he listed me multiple options for repair or replacement. I decided to get an energy efficient model that came with a $300 PG&E rebate. The actual install happened the very next day. The workers were a bit loud during the install but got the job done. My $300 rebate from PG&E actually came out to only $250, however, Ricardo was kind enough to send me a $50 gift certificate to cover the difference.
-Kai S., Foster City City, CA, 7/17/2010
(source from Yelp's review)

"Service on a Sunday morning, we had our furnace go out, so we called them and they had someone come out within an hour. Incredible that someone would come out on a Sunday. He had the parts and he did the work promptly and neatly. I've dealt with a lot of service companies, but you can't get much better than that."
-Robert Z, San Mateo, CA, 10/26/2010 (source from Diamond Certificated review)

These guys did a great job. Very friendly, knowledgeable and well priced. We got a few different quotes and chose Ricardo because he was the nicest, seemed to be the most knowledgeable and gave us one of the best priced quotes. During initial inspection Ricardo was late one morning but apologized stating this is hPasadena, CAis busiest time of year. He walked us through what we needed, answering any and all questions and recommended best duct placement and heater types for our home. He was able to squeeze us in over a weekend to finish the job in just 2 days. The crew was friendly, clean, and came in and out as if they've been doing it for years.
-Jessica, San Mateo, CA, 10/26/2010 (source from Yelp's review)

We replaced our furnace and added A/C and new ductwork throughout our house with Bayhill. We got 5 estimates from various HVAC contractors and Ricardo and his team were the best. During the estimate he gave a thorough explanation of everything, patiently answered all my questions (I had A LOT) and emailed me the estimate the following day. He actually gave me 3 estimates b/c I had 3 options to choose from between various brands and where to locate the new furnace. Bayhills estimate came in the lowest by a good margin and they began the work that week and were finished within 3 days. Benny and his crew do great work and left my garage cleaner than when they showed up. The customer service with these guys is great - they really go above and beyond to make sure you're absolutely satisfied. Nice work!!
-Kirsten, Redwood City, CA, 8/9/2010 (source from Yelp's review)

Check out more customer reivews!

"They did a very thorough analysis when they came in and recommended the type of unit to use. We had a problem with the initial unit that was put in, but they fixed it with no problems at all. They were very responsive. They were very easy to reach day or night."
-Mort C
(source from Diamond Certificated review)

Ricardo is an honest and professional guy. My HVAC suddenly stopped working one day and he listed me multiple options for repair or replacement. I decided to get an energy efficient model that came with a $300 PG&E rebate. The actual install happened the very next day. The workers were a bit loud during the install but got the job done. My $300 rebate from PG&E actually came out to only $250, however, Ricardo was kind enough to send me a $50 gift certificate to cover the difference.
-Kai S, Foster City, CA, 7/10/2010
(source from Yelp's review)

I had a new heating and AC system installed in my house. I called and got estimates from 5 companies and BayHill Heat and Air was the lowest price by $500. I called on a Wed and had the new system installed by Friday. Ricardo is personable, direct, and easy to do business with. His crew is professional, competent, and respectful. I highly recommend them, and have no hesitation in calling up Bayhill the next time I need similar services. Great job!
-Mark, Palo Alto, CA, 6/16/2010
(source from Yelp's review)

http://www.yelp.com/biz/bayhill-heat-and-air-los-altos-2

Bayhill was a pleasure to work with. I had a central AC system installed to my home, which already had a furnance present. Ricardo was very clear and amicable, giving me a good idea of what I needed and how much it would cost. I wanted to move the HVAC filter to the garage (the present locathttp://www.yelp.com/biz/bayhill-heat-and-air-los-altos-2ion is a pain to access), and of all the HVAC services I had come do an estimate, he was the only one who said he could fit the filter box into the garage (and at a fair price too). Afterwards, his team cleaned up my garage nicely, even swept the floor and left it cleaner than when they arrived! I give them 2 thumbs up for a job well done.
-Marcus, Cupertino, CA, 5/28/2010
(source from Yelp's review)

Toward the end of the week, our furnace was acting up. Yesterday morning, it wouldn't even start. After calling around to a few contractors, a couple of whom were closed and another who couldn't come out until Wendsday, I found Bayhill here on Yelp; the five star average rating and two good reviews convinced me to call; Ricardo to the rescue. He came over a short while later and assesed the situation, giving us the bad news that our furnace was dead. He took the time to explain what was happening, showed us the Carrier model which was perfect for our unit, and set up an appointment for this morning. He wasn't on the job today because of trade related exams, but his two techs, whose names I didn't get, were very friendly and thorough with the work from removing the old furnace to cleaning up after installing the new one. They showed us how to use it and said to call if we had any questions. Now, we have an energy efficient unit, not a 25-year-old energy guzzling clunker.! So, for professional heating & air conditioning work by friendly, skilled, certified techs at reasonable prices, Bayhill cannot be beat. Keep up the good work Ricardo & staff.! this was definitely worth the $2600 which included installation, tax, permit, vent, and a five year warranty on parts and labor. They also have rebates on new units from the government and PG&E; don't hesitate to give them a call.
-Brain, Foster City, CA, 5/23/2010
(source from Yelp's review)

http://www.yelp.com/biz/bayhill-heat-and-air-los-altos-2 We recently used Bayhill to replace our furnace and ducting with a high efficiency furnace and insulated ducting. Ricardo was very helpful in explaining options and organizing and scheduling the work to accomodate our needs and other work that was being done. The price was fair, and he helped prepare the forms necessary for PG&E efficiency credit. I recommend Bayhil without qualification.
-Brad, Belmont, CA, 5/22/2010
(source from Yelp's review)

Hi, This is not really a reply but I wanted to tell you how pleased i was with the wood fill in that was done at our home after the furnace work was completed The match was very close and so if we get the floors redone it should be nearly invisible. Oh the furnace works really well too although i am finding I need to adjust to the heat- I got used to a cool house-as in 60F seems a reasonable temp most of the day and 68F is overwhelming. I guess I will adjust to all this luxury in a year or so. Thanks again for the nice finishing job.
-Marianne, San Mateo, CA, 12/2009


"I am Sophia, the customer who just changed the furnace of my house. I just want to say thank you for the service provided by your company. You have the best team which works very efficient and thorough to meet every need of the customer. You helped me to arrange the appoint, contact the city to get the permit, and followed up to make sure all the questions are answered. Ricardo and his coworkers came to work on weekend morning. They were very professional and paid attention to all the details of the job. I am very satisfied with the service from your whole team. Thank you very much."
-Sophia, Fremont, CA, 10/2009

"I have never been more pleased with a furnace system than I have with yours. Your men were thorough, clean, and efficient. I understood, from previous companies, that there was NOTHING I could do about the noise (very loud) I would have to bear with it because of the furnace location. You solved that problem with an elevated pedestal. I got a LOT MORE than I had asked for...AND, at a reasonable price. I'm VERY happy that I found you in my area.Thank you for your high standards."
-Ruth, Daily City, CA, 8/2009